Anonymous
Anonymous asked in PetsCats · 1 decade ago

How should I try to "capture" a stray cat and bring him inside my house?

I've been feeding a neighborhood stray cat for a couple months. Yesterday, I asked a question about how to help him get through this upcoming brutal Minnesota winter. I received several answers that said I should bring him inside. I'm not sure how to accomplish that, because he's still too skiddish around people to get close to.

Thanks!

Update:

I should clarify a little. I've already got him coming up to the house to eat the food I put out, I just can't actually get close to him myself. I can't put the food inside with the door open, because the temperature is in the single digits (along with the snow, etc).

14 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Wow - you're getting a lot of answers that will either take forever or may drive that cat away. That is a hazard of this list - anyone can respond, but not many people have actual experience.

Your local animal shelter or Humane Society should loan you a Hav-A-Heart trap. If not, Lowes and Home depot carry them. This is a humane trap that will frighten him but not hurt him. Bait it with whatever you give him that he likes to eat. Monitor it closely, so that he isn't in it for long. Set it up when you are home and where you can easily see it without frightening the cat away. Unset the trap when you go to bed or out for the day and reset it when you get home.

Be aware you may accidentally pick up an opossum or other wild animal ( or the neighbor's cat), in which case you just release it, no big deal, and try again.

Once you get him inside, take him to a small room ( I recommend a bathroom in case he sprays so you can easily clean it) and release him. Have it prepared with a litter box and food and a place he can go to hide and sleep.