Dave
Lv 6
Dave asked in Games & RecreationGambling · 1 decade ago

Proper way to play pocket aces?

I was in a tournament with my friend. He had pocket aces and bet $1,000. It was at the start and we had about $5,000. Blinds were $400-200. Three people called. Flop did not seem to improve anyone's hand. He then bet $2,000, and one person called. He went all in and that person called because he had triple my friends chips. Well that guy got his straight on the river. He initially stayed in with a J-8. Should my friend have gone all in with his pocket aces?

I bet that guy would have folded a J-8, and everyone else would have too. Agree?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Ronald
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Good Evening Dave,

I would like to know how you call someone stupid for calling and winning the pot?? I do not understand. I have been playing no limit poker every two weeks or more for over forty (40) years. At age 19, I started playing in hard nosed Longshoremen poker games. I never slow play pocket Aces or Kings. I will slow play Queens or Jacks. Never, never Aces or Kings. I am out for blood. 50% of the time, players who slow play Aces will end up getting them popped. The other answers agree.

Yes, I learned years ago. Take the money and ran. I would have been all in. Your friend would have won $600 in blinds. No one would have called. "A bird nest in your hand is better than a bird nest on the ground." He when home a loser.

Example: I just got back from playing $1500 (cash, no tournament) buy in, Texas Hold-em at the Bellagio on friday in Las Vegas. I was about even after four hours of playing. I got pocket Kings. I bet all in. One person called me with Ace-King.

In poker, you get very few chances to make money. You have to take advantage of your great hands. You cannot afford to make a mistake. What was your friend waiting for? Christmas.

I got my wife's Christmas gift monday morning after returning from Vegas.

Have a nice day, from Los Angeles.