Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Career Choices (extreme changes which are all awesome!)?

Hi all,

I stand at a fork in the road, more like a bloody delta (style of river) fork...

I've been a paramedic till BEE (black employment equity) hit south africa and whites were fired

I'm a qualified Martial arts teacher/fighter in Ninjutsu and Pankration

I'm a qualified IT consultant

I'm a "qualified" magician (worked in a hotel and needed to learn something to break ice)

so I stand at this point:

I left my job as an IT consultant because it's mundane and boring and I have a passion for fighting/teaching martial arts but there's no money in it really! So I thought, well why not enter a military organization to use what I've learned about knife fighting and gun retention/control etc with martial arts too, but I have an awesome lady here in Cape Town and if I joined a military it would be the French Foreign Legion which has a 5 year contract so my relationship would die.

I've choreographed the fight scenes for a movie called The Lost Boys: The Thirst (think it's b-grade but it's something) and taught about 12 students when my school was in it's first 3 months, but needing money for rent/bills, I was forced to close and get a real job.

I earn big cash off magic (like 3 times what I make in 8 hours in IT, I make in 2 hours in magic) doing shows at hotels, restaurant/upper class bars/cocktail lounges but I don't know if it's my passion.

What should I do, for god sake? This is getting to the point where I'm looking mentally unstable based on my career decisions!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer