hellodarling asked in HealthWomen's Health · 1 decade ago

Help on inserting tampon!?

Hi.

this is my first time using a tampon and have trouble inserting it.

when i try to insert it the tampon only goes 1/2 way in. then its stuck. if i try to push it in more it hurts really bad like a sharp pain.

am i getting the angle wrong or something because i know you have to insert it in a 45 degree angle. any opinions please!!!!!

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Lil D
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

It best time to start learning how to use tampons is on one of your heavy flow days. This way there enough blood from lube and easier time sliding in.

Next use the lightest, thinnest tampons you have. Playtex has a thin applicator that's prefect for first time users. Use these until you feel comfortable putting in tampons.

Then find a comfortable position to put the tampon in. Some prefer sitting with their legs apart, placing their foot on the seat, or some even squat.

Then.. Relax!! This is the biggest mistake first time uses make is they are too tense thus the vaginal muscles tighten making it hard to insert the tampon. Take a few deep breaths and imagine some place that makes you happy. Try placing a little bit of water base lube (Like KY Jelly) on the tip of the tampon and down the applicator to help with insertion.

Slide just the tip in and start to angle it towards your lower back. Now slide the rest of the applicator into your body till your fingers touch your body. Slide the inner applicator into the outer applicator and there you go. What I normally have to do is slide the little bit of the tampon that is sticking out, into my body and move it around a little, till its comfortable for me.

• Sigrid
    Lv 4
    4 years ago