Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Faith asked in Games & RecreationCard Games · 1 decade ago

Any tips for playing Magic the Gathering Online?

I just started playing and want to know what strategy works best? My husband loves this game and I want to learn more about it so he can play with me and not just online.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The strategies for playing Magic online are the same as playing Magic IRL, and can be somewhat complicated for beginners. There is no specific strategy that encompasses the entire game, except for the basic goal of beating your opponent by reducing their life total to zero (although there are other ways to win, such as milling their deck until they can no longer draw a card) and there are many ways of defeating your opponent. Deck-building strategy is as essential as knowing how to play the actual game. Making a well-balanced 60-card deck with a specific set of gameplay strategies is the first thing you will need to learn. Some decks play a lot of creatures, some decks play very few or none at all. Some decks rely on specific spells or combos to win. So on and so forth. If you plan on playing in specific formats, you'll need to learn which card sets are legal in those formats before you build your deck (assuming you are playing Constructed).