My boss crossed the line, when he told me my photography "sucked" how to appropriately deal with it?

I am a graphic designer, and I do good work,. I graduated 5 years ago, and most people love my work. Of course I can't please everyone, but usually when people express what they want, I can see it in my mind's eye and produce it for them. I've produced good graphics for this company, and I have been... show more I am a graphic designer, and I do good work,. I graduated 5 years ago, and most people love my work.
Of course I can't please everyone, but usually when people express what they want, I can see it in my mind's eye and produce it for them. I've produced good graphics for this company, and I have been making drastic improvements with everything I touch, since the person before me, well wasn't good at graphics. The position I'm in, is not just graphics. I'm doing a lot of other office stuff, database management, web stuff, organizing, coordinating, so it's not like I have all day to focus, on stuff. I actually brought in my OWN camera equipment because all they had was a crappy point in click camera. I've been taking pictures and they have been happy. They paid a photographer to take some product shots, and I do just as good if not better, (not a talented photographer) So I go out into the field to take some shots of the product in action. I thought that for spending a half day, taking 200 images, then bringing them back and photoshoping them, they were some pretty decent images. SOOO much better than the last lady. I'm using a Nikon d50, with a crappy lens and a tripod... so one of my bosses saw some the pictures, and I was really happy with them. He told me that they "sucked". I asked "why", he said well this is too dark, and this and that... slight variations He has no background whatsoever to know what he's talking about.
I don't have the equipment needed for high grade professional shots.