Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicMusicR&B & Soul · 1 decade ago

what was 1970s soul music?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi! I'm a graduate student at the University of Texas at Austin's School of Information, and I'm studying to be a librarian. On the 10th of each month, librarians demonstrate reference services by participating in an event called "Slam the Boards," where we answer questions posted to boards like Yahoo!Answers.

I found this definition of "Soul Music" in the Oxford Music Online Encyclopedia. This is a subscription resource that you might be able to access through your local public library or through your school if you are a student. I have pasted the first, most general paragraph below followed by the section specifically on the 1970s. A citation for the text is found under "sources." I hope this answers your question. A free resource you could try, if you need more information, would be Wikipedia (with caution, of course); see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soul_music. You also might try consulting the sources given at the end of the Wikipedia article if you want to read books about the topic.

Have a great day! Visit your library!

From Oxford Music Online: