Is 'ghee' used in cooking considered as vegetarian or non-veg?

Because ghee is obtained from milk of cows and buffaloes. There were earlier Gandhians I knew avoided milk,curd,buttermilk,ghee, even they were not wearing chappals. How far it is correct to add 'ghee' in food, being offered to god ?

13 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

    ghee is purified butter, a dairy product , nothing is killed or meat product in it

  • 4 years ago

    1

    Source(s): Perfect Paleo Recipes Guide : http://PaleoCookbook.raiwi.com/?UILq
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Only the Cow's ghee is used in temples and the cow is prayed as a mother. And there is nothing non-veg to say in ghee. It's a vegetarian food related to Hinduism. Hindus use it often in there worship and food items, because most of them r vegetarian.

  • 4 years ago

    PURE VEG . ! Ghee made from cow's milk Ghee is made by simmering unsalted butter in a cooking vessel until all water has boiled off, the milk solids (or protein) have settled to the bottom, and a froth has floated on top. After removing the froth, the cooked and clarified butter is then spooned off or tipped out carefully to avoid disturbing the milk solids on the bottom of the pan. Ghee can be stored for extended periods without refrigeration, provided that it is kept in an airtight container to prevent oxidation and remains moisture-free. The texture, color, or taste of ghee depends on the source of the milk from which the butter was made and the extent of boiling and simmering.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 3 years ago

    Vegan Ghee

  • Lorene
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

    For the best answers, search on this site https://shorturl.im/axLyu

    Buzzzbe, Non-veg are those items which contains flesh,fiber or blood, Ghee does not contain any of these so it is very much veg item, bust for just argument one may say milk comes oust from cow or buffalo and ghee is made from it so it should be placed in non-veg list. But so many things come out from living things, they are not non-veg, i.e. gums come out from tree, cotton cloth are made from cotton plant but they are not non-veg so is the case with Ghee.

  • 1 decade ago

    You can buy a non dairy version, some Indian people do not like it say it is to high in saturated fat, but butter or clarified butter which ghee is really is just the butter oil, veggie ghee is a veg based product, like coconut fat, and red palm oil it adds a certain flavour to dishes, but is to be used in sparse amounts.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    I suppose ghee is vegetarian because mostly all temples use ghee for making prasad and for lighting diyas. Ghee is a dairy product and is vegetarian.

  • 1 decade ago

    Making Ghee Dosent involve Violence.If you argue milk is from the cow or buffalo then , dosent one take his/her mothers milk? Is it Veg or Non Veg? If mothers milk is veg then cow's milk is too.

    Source(s): Common Sense
  • doubt
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

    whatever the upper castes consume is considered to be vegetarian . everything else is non-veg :p.

    eg. in some places like bengal , everyone eats fish . there , fish is considered veg !!. in some places , extremely orthodox upper caste people do not eat ginger or garlic . they consider that to be non-veg !!!!!

    worldwide , however , milk products are considered as vegetarian . same in india , since all upper-caste people consume it . so , you can " offer it to the gods " .

    however , the purest vegetarians , also known as vegans , do not touch animal products , not even milk .

  • 1 decade ago

    As no animal killing is involved in the making of ghee, it is vegetarian.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.