Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

I'm a home chef - how to bump my game to the next level?

I consider cooking to be my biggest hobby, and have really enjoyed mastering new techniques and dishes at home. I love experimental and gourmet cooking, and I'm looking to bring my skills to the next level. I am pretty adept with sauces, baking, stocks, filled pastas, etc., but I'm wondering how I can find a good cookbook or guidebook to help me master the more complex culinary arts and a more advanced skill set.

Do any of you have a cookbook to recommend or try? I want to buy the Flavor Bible, and have heard it's really good, and am also considering the French Laundry Cookbook - I read a blog by a lady who cooked her way through the whole thing, and was inspired.

My only caveat; cost prohibitiveness. I can't afford to buy foie and white truffles for us to just eat at home - that's a little out of my price range.

Thoughts?

Update:

I consider myself to be an 'intermediate' level cook - can definitely handle most recipes I've seen, and am proficient with creating my own. I guess I'm wanting to tackle more advanced projects...

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer