Can I use pay pal to pay my virgin mobile bills?

I'm new to virgin mobile! So I was reading reviews about it.

I saw a lot of bad reviews that virgin mobile takes money from your bank account without asking. Can I register my pay pal and put certain amount needed on it so they can't randomly take my money from my bank account? Can pay pal overdraft too? If I registered pay pal, would it still take money from my bank account?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Three ironclad rules I tell every Virgin Mobile newbie.

1)Pay with TOPUPS ONLY. Virgin mobile has been known to overcharge credit, debit cards and paypal accounts . It is very hard to get a refund.

Topups protect you .

2)Make sure you have ENOUGH MONEY to cover taxes and extra charges (like the Federal Emergency 911 number tax). If you want the $19.99 plan, your $20 topup will NOT be ENOUGH. But you won't know it if you don't check. The extra penny won't cover all the taxes.

Virgin Mobile will then change your rate from the unlimited plan to 15 cents a text, their per text/non plan rate because you couldn't pay for the plan and the tax. No tax, no plan. That comes out to 133 texts per $20. Far from unlimited. Topup with a $30 card the FIRST time to cover the taxes. Then topup the month after using a $20 card, the leftover balance from the $30 covering your taxes. Just pay $20 per month till your leftover extra runs low and then topup with a $30 card again and go back to $20s until you run low again.

3) Make sure you get what you want. This is connected to number two.

If you topup, CHECK your plan. Make sure it is what you ordered. The first day you are using it. CHECK. And the day your topup time is coming again , CHECK. That way, you get what you want, not what Virgin Mobile is giving you by default.

Do these three things and it will save you some potential headaches down the road.