Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

How long does it take for antibiotics to work?

I just got over a cold which turned into a respiratory infection. It's GROSS! I have been on Amoxicillan for 4 days and I keep bowing out/coughing up bloody, dark yellow, foul tasting mucus (great mental images huh?)

Additionally, today I saw my dentist and I have an abscessed tooth which needs to be pulled as soon as I am done with the Amoxicillan........................... but the infection isn't seeming to go away!

I'm a small person and it's dosed 500mg 3x per day. I missed a couple doses 2 days ago.

I'm paranoid that it might not take out the infection - and I am allergic to just about every other A/B out there, which is why I ONLY take antibiotics when absolutely necessary - I do not want to become resistant to the antibiotic.

Should it be taking this long????

Thank you SO much!

Update:

Fever went away the day I began the Amox.

I am aware that it is very important not to miss doses of antibiotics of the Penicillin variety - or any kind for that matter.

Coughing up this crap is hopefully a good sign, but

I also have an abscessed tooth which is being extracted as soon as the Amox is finished. IT still hurts!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Desi
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The fact that your cough is productive (you're coughing it up) is a good thing, you're "getting rid of it."

One usually starts to "feel" a bit better very soon after beginning a course of antibiotics but this doesn't mean the infection is gone. You must take the full course and take it properly to be completely effective or the infection will not completely go away and you'll relapse.