Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

krazykat asked in PetsDogs · 1 decade ago

Advice on getting a dog in my situation?

I'm a freshman in high school with a sister in college and I have a bit of a predicament. I really want to get a dog and have wanted one since third grade. Now my parents have now agreed to get me one and now I'm feeling a bit nervous. I do not know what to do because in about 4 years I'll be going to college and my parents are moving back to our country of origin.

Should I:

Get a puppy for those four years and let someone else take care of it until I can get an apartment of some sort?

or

Get an adult dog

or

Have a dog in foster care

I'm feeling very nervous about this, it's been my dream to have a dog since I was a small child, and now that the chance has finally come, I need to make this work. Also any advice on what type of dog to get is also welcome. Thank You!!

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I know this feeling well... For starters, fostering is amazing! be ready though. You bond tightly and it is hard when the dog gets adopted, but if you look at it like me, you are saving so many lives and giving dogs who would otherwise be put down a decent chance in life, even if their future isn't with you.