What are the upgrades that I MUST have when buying a new home?

we are beginning to design our new home an are overwhelmed by the upgrades that are available.. they all seem necessary, but which one's should we absolutely have because it will become a hassle and more expensive in the future...

These upgrades are things like wood flooring, ceramic flooring in the kitchen and bath, french doors, pot lights, staircase choice of wood..etc.

I'm having a hard time deciding....

thanks in advance :)

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi,

I'm a professional in this field and I'm feeling generous.So here are some tips and fair to high price estimates that an average builder may charge.

****Print this and do not loose it because I doubt another professional builder will be willing to type all this for you.**** Most builders will upsell as much as they can...so here is an honest evaluation for you.

PLUMBING

-No need for plumbing fixtures of top dollar. Just a quality good name like mowen, delta, peerless, american standard...many high dollr fixtures end up lasting the same amount of time.

-Make sure all of your homes water supply lines are flexible braided braided lines and not the hard plastic poly lines it will only cost $8 per faucet and $4for toilet.

-Pipe wrap and plumbing strap everywhere.($200-$400all around)

-Definately install a plumbing cleanout for each plumbing vent being installed $100-$300ea labor included

ELECTRIC

-Be sure to get a breaker panel capable of holding plenty more amps than you are using and not just available knock-out slots to fit in extra breakers.(you never know what power you will need in the future so be sure that space is available without overloading)