Going to New Mexico soon. Albuquerque or Santa Fe?

I'd like to see the native lands and arts too. Will be renting a car so suggestions for interesting and worth seeing places within 1 or 2 hours drive from either cites are appreciated! Let me put it like this:

I don't want to do the typical tourist trail. I am not interested in shopping centers or overrated museums, places, and things to do. I studied Anthropology and am interested in the native American culture, history, art and jewelery and I will be accompanied by a photographer friend. So, the more authentic the place the better! Thank you!

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Most authentic place would be Santa Fe. Go to The Plaza in Santa Fe, it's beautiful. There is an old church there that has a spiral staircase with no supports. Loretto Chapel. It's close to The Plaza, you'd have to walk about a block. I've been there about twice in 9 years.

Go to wikipedia and type in Santa Fe, NM. You will probably want to read up on it, since it has a ton more information than I can possibly give you out of my brain, since I don't live there lol.

You can also go to the reservations around Santa Fe and Albuquerque. Sandia, Zia, Santa Ana Pueblo. Absolutely beautiful land. Santa Fe is also a little more artsy than Albuquerque.

Albuquerque is more of a city...the only places I would suggest going for culture is Old Town and Los Ranchos, both of which are located near Rio Grande and I-40.

Hope I helped; I'm not really familiar with either of those places; I've only been to each about 2 or 3 times.

Source(s): I live in Rio Rancho, NM, which is about 2 miles from Albuquerque