Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicMusicCountry · 1 decade ago

I'm new to country, what should I know?

I used to tell myself that country music was lame, but I've just recently started giving country music a real listen. I've found some songs I really like, such as

-Small Town USA - Justin Moore

-Back that thing up - Justin Moore

-Country boy can survive - Hank Williams, Jr.

I've also heard some David Allen Coe and Garth Brooks. I think it's all great, but I don't really care for Taylor Swift or Carrie Underwood. I've also been looking up country clubs, line dancing, etc. I've sort of stumbled on this whole new genre and I like it.

Can anyone else recommend good country songs? Whats with the divide between old country and new stuff? Is country getting more or less popular? It seems to me a lot of people hate it still, but maybe thats just my area. Anything else you'd care to share?

Sorry for the open-ended question. I appreciate anything you can tell me.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Nymph
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Yay, finally a new country music fan who doesn't like Taylor Swift! I do agree, that country music can change your whole life, however it's never really been new for me cause I grew up listening to country music and my daddy always lived the style. He worked hard and wasn't worried about the materialistic side of life, he just worked hard to get food on the table and pay the bills. The main line between new/old stuff is Garth Brooks in my opinion. He started country music changing direction, not saying that new country music ain't good, it's just harder to find modern proper country music and not pop (Taylor/Carrie etc). Yeah, people generally dislike country, but country's all about being proud of what you like and not caring about what other people think!

Here's some good country music (from my iPod).

Charlie Daniels Band - The Devil Went Down To Georgia

Susan Raye - L.A. International Airport