promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsOutdoor RecreationFishing · 1 decade ago

How do I get a job on a fishing boat?Serious People who know about fishing only PLEASE!!?

We live in NY and my husband has alot of fishing experience and we are willing to move out of state or internationally...Any tips or Advice!!Thanks

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

When I was much younger, I used to work on fishing boats when I got strapped or was between gigs (I am a full-time pro musician). So, I think I am qualified to offer advice on the subject. My first real job (at age 16) was working on a shrimp boat out of Galveston, Tx. That was about 40+ yars ago.

There are many types of fishing boats. You need to have an idea about what kind of fishing you want to do. I worked on shrimp boats, and mostly, fishing charter boats.

In my opinion, working as a mate on charter boats is as good as it gets. The work is easy, and the pay is fantastic for what you are doing. Basically, you are being paid to help people catch fish...that's it. And then, you spend a few hours cleaning the boat, equipment and rigs after you dock. That's about it. I worked on charter boats out of Destin, Fla. for years. All you do is just go to the charters office, and tell them you'd like to sign on as a mate, when a position opens up. There is a lot of turnover, so it might not be too long of a wait.