? asked in SportsFootball (American) · 1 decade ago

i broke my femur this year in football im a freshman in highschool should i play next year?

Im a little freaked out about playing but i know i can do it. I just want to know what everyone else thinks. Also my athletic trainer at my school is amazing so i feel a little better because of that.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I say play. When I was a freshman I broke my leg in the middle of the season. Granted it was my tibia, not my femur, but it was still a severe injury. Because of it I had to sit the basketball season out and got better just in time to start track. I came back the next year and started on Varsity as a sophomore. It really didn't give me any problems. When mine broke, I had to have surgery do dislodge the bottom of my tibia from my growth plate and when it healed my doctor told me that a healed broken bone like my leg would be stronger than it was before because it was fresher bone cells. Think of it as welding two metal bars together. If you can get over the fear of breaking it again, and it is a total FREAK accident for someone to actually break their femur in football...I feel for you, then you should definitely play. I too had an absolutely amazing athletic trainer at my school, she was actually my aunt. She helped me rehab my leg and get me back to full strength. If your trainer is what you say they are, you should have no problems getting back onto the field. Good luck and have a safe recovery.

• ignaz
    Lv 4
    4 years ago