Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsPhotography · 1 decade ago

Why is it so hard to make a living as a photographer?

I've got $2,000 in the bank. I have $3,000 in my 401k. I am in my late 20's single. I pay $550 rent on a studio apartment. After taxes my income is about $400 a week, $8 per hour plus commissions. I have 3 years experience in 1 hour photo lab work, 1 as management, have done a lot of portrait photography (mostly H. S. Seniors), very familiar with film and digital cameras, especially Fuji equipment, the Fuji DL410 digital "dry lab", Epson 9800 wide format printer and Photoshop CS3.

We have pretty high unemployment around here, about 10% so demand for things like photography comes way after putting food on the table and a roof over one's head these days. Hopefully things aren't so bad that nobody is spending money. For example local seniors would spend $100 on portraits in 2006, maybe even $110. Today I'm lucky to get more than the $30 sitting fee and another $20-30 worth of prints. In 2006, 200+ seniors would get portraits out of a class of 300. This year looks like maybe only 100 out of 300. Few jobs and less money leaves me broke. I don't know if I should stick it out here in poverty or move on. It's not a question of being good, I am good,at least technical proficiency and basic skills. I wouldn't say I am great, yet. Why am I so stuck in this income. Any ideas? I have 15 college credits, 12 of which are in photography classes. I just purchased this $500 camera at work last month...

http://www.fujifilmusa.com/products/digital_camera...

Update: