do pet groomers use tranqulizers or setatives?

i took my shih tzu to the groomers today and she is very good for them but if we try to groom her or anything of that manner she goes crazy, she is a very hyper dog and she is very bouncy but when we brought her home today she just wasnt herself at all, she acts all sad and depressed! do pet groomers use a setative or a tranqulizer to calm the animals down so they dont missbehave or anything? is there anything i should worry about when taking my dog to the groomers??? thank you so much in advance!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Tranquilizers and sedatives have to be prescribed by a vet. They can't use these drugs without a vet. giving it to them. So the answer is they better not be using any drugs to control your dog. I am a vet. tech. and in our clinic we have a groom shop. Our groomers don't need sedatives often, but if there is a dog that is biting or totally uncontrollable then they tell me and I call the owners and ask if it is okay. Then if they say it is okay I inform the vet that the dog is being a problem for the groomers and the owner is okay with the use of sedatives. Then I pull the chart and he checks to make sure there are no drug allergies and then he gives them something to calm them down. But we never send the animal home until it is fully awake. After the groomers are done with the dog, they bring it to the hospital and we keep it with us until it is completely awake and then call the owners to tell them that it is ready to go home. It usually takes a few hours for the drug to wear off completely. We don't usually completely knock the dog out, when grooming most the time the most that is needed is a low dose tranquilizer (such as Acepromazine). The dog is not totally asleep they are just very relaxed.

So the answer is no they should not be using a tranquilizer without the supervision of a vet. And you should call and ask them. And if necessary go to a different groomer.