Would I be able to get a job in Business Administration with a felony on my record?

I want to pursue a Master degree in Business Admin. Would the felony on my record conflict with my goal?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

It's going to be difficult to get a job in a business with a felony record. Most businesses perform background checks on prospective employees these days.

Source(s): 20+ years practicing law
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

As a hiring manager I can understand and explain why it is so hard to get a job.

Here's the thing about getting hired after a felony:

It's a simple matter of liability. It has nothing to do with whether they like or trust you, it's just legal liability. They hire someone with a felony on their record, and someday that person snaps and kills the office. The fact that the company knew about the felony and still chose to hire that person means the company can't say, "Well we had no idea, we never saw it coming!" It gives grounds for unbelievable lawsuits from the victims' families. The company is toast. Or maybe it's not even that bad. Maybe that person simply commits a smaller violation; Harrassment or a white collar crime; Same deal. There is no reason for a company, particularly a large one, to risk hiring a liability. And again, it's not YOU, it's not that they PERSONALLY don't like you, it's that thing on your record. It doesn't matter to them if you're the saintliest, family-oriented, jolly old candy maker on the planet, it's just not worth the risk.