Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureCultures & GroupsSenior Citizens · 1 decade ago

Senior citizens what can I do to alleviate the cold when planning on stay in the outdoors for a few days?

I am talking about 20-35 degree nights and that is not including the wind chill

Update:

I will be carrying some equipment but there will be no tent

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Dress to match the Temperature and do not go for long periods of time without eating. Hot meals are a plus. My animals do well out in the cold weather if they have plenty to eat and keep their belly's full.

Source(s): Texan
  • -
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

I would be bringing some spicy food, spices such as ginger, cinnamon, cayenne pepper and cloves (and others) help increase circulation and warm the body. I have been using ginger for that for over 15 years now. A cup of hot spicy chai tea is always warming for me. When I was in Morocco last winter I was served a variety of warming foods. For breakfast in the rural areas there was a cooked cereal (wheat or corn) and it had a few cayenne peppers cooked in it. And every hour or two the women would offer me a spiced drink such as ginger coffee, both of those really helped on the coldest days with no heat.

• 1 decade ago

Are you going on a stake out? Layer your clothing & keep our head covered. Take some of those pocket hand warmers that you just smack & crush to get some heat. Bring a nice little propane heating device to keep your coffee or other hot drinks on hand! You should bring a small tent or nylon "tarp". They don't weigh that much. What's another pound when you are carrying 30 kilos on your back anyway? lol!

• 1 decade ago

Are you going to be in temper mountains, above tree line many factors to figure in. I have panned for gold from the desert to mountains in Colorado.

Warm socks

lace up shoes

thermo under ware

wool hat or equivalent

Artic sleeping bag.

energy snacks