What do I have to do to become a Quarterback for my high school team next year?

I am a 16 year old Junior, I didn't play football this year... I showed up too late in the summer. I never had really a great passion for Wide Receiver or DB. I always loved to play QB. I would love to play QB next year and I have a decent arm(I can throw about 40 yards pretty accurately), I'm very accurate. The only two things that hold me back are my size 6'2" 150 and I have no "real" experience. One advantage I believe I might have is that all our QB's are undersized at about 5'9". So can someone please help to to fufill my dream?

I also do believe I have a great amount of heart and perseverance.

Update:

Backup would even be nice.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Be a leader. Be Humble. Be Coachable. Don't Whine. Give it your best every practice. Work as hard as you can no matter what you are doing with the team. Be the first on the field, and the last off. And if coach puts you elsewhere than a QB its because your better there. No matter what Be Coachable. And if your in practice and your tired PUSH don't give up untill you CANNOT go anymore. and Build a relationship with your teammates. Last thing i have to say is always ask yourself. How bad do i want it will I sweat and bleed Courage and Perseverance with my Brothers or will I Make them hold me up. During practice and during games. Good luck bro oh and remember this its simple and dont forget it. Always No Matter What Mow Your Own Grass

• 1 decade ago

I had this same situation, but started as a Junior and not a Senior. You should gain some weight for one, but not too much. RIght now I am 6'2'' and 180 pounds and can still move quick enough. Your throwing is good, and hopefully will increase with the training you put in. You should also work on speed if you are not too fast.