do general contractors charge sales tax?

my general contractor is cahrging me sales tax on work done labor and materials is this normal????I thought sales tax was only charged on merchandise? Hes charging me sales tax on labor too.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

In some states, labor is taxable. In others, just the material is taxable. If he's collecting it from you, and giving you a receipt showing tax collected, he must pay that amount to the state. If he isn't, he'll get caught eventually. Messing around when it comes to tax is not taken lightly by the government. Hope this helps.

• 1 decade ago

I am an electrical contractor in Michigan. There was talk of a "service tax" but I think it was only like 1%. It may have gone through, I don't know. But it's nothing I've ever done. I do charge my customers sales tax but it's only the sales tax I paid my supplier but it can be done the other way too.

Sales tax is for merchandise and service tax is for labor. Check him out.

Also, if he quoted you a job and didn't write that "this price does not include sales tax", it is assumed that it does. He may have bid te job low and is just trying to find a way to make his money back.

Source(s): Electrical contractor
  • 4 years ago

There are 4 states that charges sales tax on labor services... Hawaii, New Mexico, South Dakota and West Virginia. All other states do not charge sales tax for labor. Hope this helps!

• 1 decade ago

I'm in California. Perhaps it varies by state. I have never heard of charging sales tax on labor. Call your State Board of Equalization to find out.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago