KJ Monte asked in HealthOther - Health · 1 decade ago

What can be the cause to chest pain upon inhaling?

My wife is having sharp pain on the right side. It feels like it is in her lung. This happened all of a sudden while just sitting. Does anyone know what this can be? Thanks for any help.

(This isn't gas nor heartburn)

6 Answers

Relevance
  • ?
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Chest pain upon inhalation is often a symptom of pleurisy. The pleura is the sack like coating that covers the lungs. Sometimes there is an inflammation in between the pleura and the lungs and it causes that sort of pain.

If it doesn't abate in just a few days she might want to see her doctor.

Source(s): I worked as a nurse for 38+ years.
  • 4 years ago