books to read for dating?

I had a horrible break with my boyfriend, who i've been with since i was a teenager, last weekend. I am now in my mid 20's. I am clueless, and scared in the big city. I have no idea how the adult dating world works.

To be honest, i have no interest in seeing anyone right now. But eventually i will want to pick myself up, and when that happens, i'm worried i'll have no idea how to act.

For example, this guy who i think likes me always texts or calls at 5 o 6 pm in the evening on a Saturday, and it worries me that this is an afterthought, or a booty call. It's an example of a silly detail that probably everyone knows about but i don't...because i've had no practice. I've never been on a date (my bf and i grew up in the same small town.)

I feel like i'm being flung into the olympics and i haven't even done local sports. Everyone at my age has dated and has experience, and i'm a complete rookie.

If there's a book or movie that you found helpful for dating....please help a girl out, i am clueless and scared ... Also, what's your best advice?

thanks

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Honestly, you don't need a book.

Think about it, there really isn't a specific protocol for dating, because of the variance of circumstances and subjectivity of it, there isn't any specific way to go about it.

It's not like a job interview with its specific nature, with its black and white do's and don'ts.

Honestly, when you meet a guy that you would like to date, then go out with him, go with the flow. There is only one specific thing that i can think of that most everyone knows- a general rule that should (and often is not) obeyed, and that would be; disclosure. Don't go rambling on about the consistency of your periods, or how crazy you think you are on the first date. Be a little candid, but nothing that would scare off a potential mate. Be yourself, but to a lesser extent, I suppose.