Looking to get an electric or gas scooter, moped, or vespa?

Hi, I am a poor college student looking to get an electric or gas scooter, moped, or vespa because I can't afford gas for my truck. I have no knowledge on any of these since my family has never owned one. If anyone could give me a brief overview of the differences and what I should purchase it would be very helpful and I would love you forever. Thanks!

8 Answers

Relevance
  • Dimo J
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Electric vehicles cost more in replacement batteries than gas for a faster gas powered vehicle. Get electric if you want to be "Green" -- not for economy.

A Moped, MOtorized PEDalbike, tops out at 20-30 mph. Not safe for city streets.

A 50cc scooter will top out at 35 or so. Again, not safe on city streets with 40+ mph cars.

125-150cc motorbikes/scooters will handle surface streets.

250cc+ motorbikes/scooters will handle freeways.

Italian, Japanese, and American manufacturers have good reputations for reliability. Others may be cheaper, but cheap is not economical when it breaks. Check carefully where something is made, The Schwinn name was sold and the bikes are cheap unreliable Chinese junk. Piaggio (Vespa) has been making scooters longer than anyone else in the business. The 150 Fly is interesting.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

Electric will bring you grief. Affordable battery technology is not there yet.

You are economically safest with a Honda, Genuine, or Yamaha. If you are just buzzing around town, the Honda Ruckus is a best choice. There is a plenthora of aftermarket parts for it because it is so popular. You can sometimes practically steal them on ebay sometimes.

There are website forums just for the Ruckus. Battlescooter has lots of upgrades. You can lower the seat, stretch the frame, add footpegs, crash bars, racks, bigger engine, etc. The scoot is great off the floor, but if you want to trick it out later, the possibilities are incredible.