Aikido vs Krav Maga for real life self-defense?

Hello all! I'm completely new to the whole martial arts scene and I've been investigating which one I want to focus my attention on. I have been doing Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu for 2 weeks now and I'm not gunna lie, I don't think it's for me. The fact that you never punch your opponent kinda sucks for street self-defense. Also, you always have to bring them down on the ground. I want a martial art that will help me with ACTUAL self-defense. I don't care how pretty something is, I just want to kick the *** of whoever is trying to kick mine. I've been watching Aikido and Krav Maga videos on youtube and they both look like viable systems for a smaller individual like myself (5'9" but really skinny). Any advice would be great.

PS dojo's for both are extremely close so you don't have to worry about that.

15 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Since you have nearby places to train you should go in and check them out. I know a guy who teaches hand-to-hand combat in a militia and swears by Aikido (although he practices a number of other styles). But Krav Maga was developed in a place of perpetual violence and is taught to military personel around the world. I like Krav Maga because it only focuses on moves that are effective in the real world, no bs.

Really, though, a lot of martial arts (including BJJ) have tapes and schools that are dedicated to real life situations; some are inevitably better than others. To me, it is more important to just get into the single best dojo for your goals, which could easily be either. Go there. Talk to the instructors. Check out the facilities. Watch a session, they may even let you participate just to try it out.

• bucci
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

Aikido Vs Krav Maga

• Wanda
    Lv 4
    4 years ago