Magic the Gathering: Regeneration?

Ok so I'm pretty new at the game still and just got through playing a game with my gf. She plays g/w and I play blue/black. Just to experiment, I threw a couple of black creatures with regenerate ( Drudge Skeletons and Wall of Bone, I believe) and she had a hard time as everytime she attacked with her mana-heavy green creatures I just blocked and regenerated with those two.

Can someone explain a strategy for defeating regen creatures? Or am I using them wrong?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

That is correct, and that is how they are used. They really have 4 weaknesses in general:

1) Regen creatures tend to be low-power, so they provide little deterrant against attacks if your opponent has more creatures than you and their creatures are tougher (which for equivalent mana cost, they will be, particularly Green creatures).

2) There are few flying creatures with Regen, so you can usually just go over the top of them.

3) Regen provides no extra protection against Trample. This is really the only situation where Wall of Bone is superior to Drudge Skeletons.

4) Regen always has a cost, usually one black mana. This means that any time you are concerned about being attacked, you have to hold back one mana per regen creature, so they effectively reduce your mana pool every turn.

Green tends to have a lot of trample. White has a fair share of flying, and a rather large amount of Exile (formerly called Remove from the Game), which since it is not destroying the creature, regenerate does not protect against.

• LynnM
    Lv 4
    4 years ago