Jack asked in Science & MathematicsChemistry · 1 decade ago

"Predict the polarity of the covalent bonds..."?

Predict the polarity of the covalent bonds in the following molecules, using the notation o+ and o- where appropriate.

2 questions..

a) HF

b) N2

Ok, I have never done this before (first year of 6th form (chemistry)) and I don't have a clue what polarity is. Can someone please explain what it means/does and perhaps answer my first 2 questions as examples? :D

Looking for a quick answer as this homework is in for tomorrow!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Polarity occurs when the electronegativities of the two atoms bonded together have a larger discrepancy. I believe the standard is: If the electronegativity DIFFERENCE is between 0.3 and 2.0, then the bond is polar covalent meaning the more electronegative atom "hogs" the electrons most of the time.

Use a table with electronegativities (like this one: http://www.tutor-homework.com/Chemistry_Help/elect... ). You'll see that the difference between HF is somewhere in that range (i.e. take the electronegativity of Fluorine and subtract it from that of Hydrogen). HF is indeed polar covalent. Draw delta+ over the hydrogen and delta- over the fluorine.

Any diatomic elements will automatically have an electronegativity difference of zero, making them non-polar covalent, such as N2, O2, Cl2, etc.

Anything with an electronegativity difference higher than 2.0 is ionic.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

All atoms have a specific electronegativity, which means that all atoms have a specific "amount" of ability to attract electrons to themselves from OTHER neighbooring atoms in the molecule!