Sports and Cruiser Motorcycle wave?

I just bought my first motorcycle and found while riding other motorcylcist waving as they pass by (same or opposite direction). I usually dont feel conftrable taking my hand off the handel since im a noob, so I just not so they can see me return the wave.

Question is... I have a sports bike (Honda) and Ive only scene other sport bikers wave. Now im hearing bikers on Harleys would rather flip off sports bikes than wave...is this true? Since no one on a harley (or american built bike) ever waved at me, I just wont even initiate a wave if seeing them... Any thoughts?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

One thing you need to understand that some just don't seem to get - whatever we ride, we're also people. By that I mean that you will get a different ___________(story, response, action....) from each. There's stereotypes about riders as there are about other groups of people. Like most, they may have had a small element of truth somewhere, but it's been lost.

True, there are snobs on bikes. But, look around - there's snobs everywhere (if you look hard enough).

Wave (or not) as you feel appropriate.

As a new rider, it's ok to not feel comfortable letting go of the bars. A nod is just fine instead.

I've flipped people off - usually in cages.

Rarely on a bike - in those cases it had nothing to do with the bike, but was all about the rider, and how they were riding. Usually in a manner that caused danger to me.

The last time I stopped to check on a bike by the side of the road, it turned out the guy had clutch problems. Sport bike, brand not important. I gave him a ride (in typical shorts, sneakers and full-face helmet) 50 miles out of my way.

It's what many of us will do - regardless of what you're riding.

I did make him tie his shoes first.

Source(s): Live Free Or Die.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago