Oil painting starter set?

My wife is interested in starting oil painting (complete beginner with potential raw talent). Can anyone recommend a good starter set or essential equipment to get started. Thanks in advance.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

To get started in oil painting you need:

Oil paint: You can use regular oil paint or the new water-soluable oil paint, which is much less stinky and can be cleaned-up with soap and water (vs turpenoid). You should get a warm and cool hue in each of the primary colors, such as: Cadmium Red and Alizarin Crimson; Ultramarine Blue and Cerulean Blue; Cadmium Yellow and Lemon Yellow. You also need some neutrals like: Yellow Ochre; Burnt Umber; and Burnt Sienna. Then you will need a big tube of white. (You don't need black, as that's easily mixed from the primary colors.) You will also need some stand oil or something simular to thin the paint (you don't use water or turpenoid to do this!). Make sure that if you get water-soluable oils that you get water-soluable stand oil; and if you get regular oils, get regular stand oil! I use Winsor & Newton water soluable oils.

You'll need brushes. For regular oil paints, get boar bristle brushes. For water-soluable oils, get the "Artisan" brand brushes from Winsor & Newton (or something similar). They work a LOT better with water than boar brisle do. You'll need round, flat and filbert (cat's tongue). What sizes? Well, it depends on the size of the canvas she paints--bigger canvas = bigger brushes. Get at least one small round "rigger" and a small flat for detail work. Then maybe a medium flat and a medium filbert and a large flat.

Palette: Wood, plastic and glass all work well. They have disposable paper palettes that are very popular too.

Palette Knife for mixing. Get one with a small diamond-shaped head for mixing. The straight ones are for palette knife painting. Mixing color with a palette knive will save the bristles on your brushes!