Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthWomen's Health · 1 decade ago

Question about tampons?

I've been using tampons for a couple of years now and i always forget that i have one in so in the day its usually in for about 5 hours (light flow) and at night i wear one too which is about 9 hours. What are my chances of getting TSS (Toxic Shock Syndrome)?

20 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Chances of getting TSS is very low if you are taking all the right precautions when using tampons. Make sure you are not using higher than needed absorbency, the more absorbent the greater the risk, it may be related to a "drying" of the vagina, as well tampons contain things such as artificial fibers like rayon which causes added issues. Change them OFTEN, do not reuse them and watch for signs of TSS and if you have any go directly to your Dr. TSS signs include, sudden fever (102 degrees or more), vomiting, diarrhea, flu-like symptoms, fainting, dizziness, and/or a red rash on the body.

**FACT

Men, women and children can get toxic shock syndrome, for example following burns, boils, insect bites or infections after surgery. About half of the reported cases are linked to women who use tampons; the other half are not.