Ignition Stuck, Key wont turn, 1987 Ford Ranger, Stuck at 711 store!?

1987 Ford Ranger - 5 speed, v6. 221,000 miles.

I pulled into 711 after work, turning the wheel to the right, as sharp as it could go, to park my truck.

I shut it off, pushed the unlock button to remove my keys (as always in that part of town). Everything was normal, went in to buy a six pack, came back out and put the key in ignition but wouldn't turn, it's locked.

I tried wiggling it every which way, turning the wheels every which way, pushing the unlock button, but nothing. I did hear some clicking noises while turning the wheel and jiggling the ignition, like the lock or something is stuck. I tried for half hour til the store manager came out and helped me push it to a safe place over night til I can figure out what to do. I've never had this problem before and I'm no mechanic, unfortunately.

Any ideas? Does it sound like I need to replace the ignition, how much could it cost? Is it something that I could do myself with my basic toolbox in the parking lot of 711? Please help.

I appreciate any ideas/answers. Thanks.

Update:

Thanks "Dale D" and "not 2 B fooled"

The steering wheel is not locked, it does turn freely but the key is in the "lock" position. I did think of getting a push start but didn't think i could if the key was in locked position.

Update 2:

Thanks Jack,

Yes I did exactly that, I tried it all. I even tried inserting the key at different depths and using my knee while turning the wheel and pushing the unlock at the same time, haha. I heard clicking at certain times so I know something just isn't lining up right.

Thanks Billy,

so you are pretty sure it is the "ignition switch"? Who should I call? Just a basic mechanic from the yellow pages?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer