Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationBoats & Boating · 1 decade ago

What do these requirements mean for an "able bodied seaman" job?

I have five years experience in the US Navy, but I was a journalist, so I wouldn't call myself a *real* sailor. I want to be one though, so I was looking at this job posting for an able bodied seaman.

What on earth do these requirements mean, none of which I meet since I'm unfamiliar with them? And how do I go about getting these things?

1. Able Bodied Seaman endorsement and valid MMD document

2. STCW certificate

Preferred

1. A USCG license (any tonnage)

2. PIC

I don't even know where to start! I can't even find a place on the USCG website to contact a recruiter. Help?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Unfortunately, because you were a journalist, the USCG doesn't consider you to be a "seaman" either (they would if you'd been a Boatswain's Mate, a Quartermaster, or an Officer of the Deck, and if you had any time as an unrated Seaman before you became a journalist they'll count that as well).

Okay, so, the alphabet soup.

OS is an Ordinary Seaman, which is like a Seaman (E1-E3) in the Navy

AB is an Able Seaman, which is like a petty officer (E4-E6)

MMD is a Merchant Mariner's Document (like a military ID for non-licensed personnel), MML is a Merchant Mariner's License, for either Deck or Engineering officers. Neither of these exist anymore, they've been consolidated into the MMC, which is Merchant Mariner's Credential, which looks like a passport.

TWIC is a Transportation Worker's Identification Credential, which you'll also need but comes from TSA instead of the Coast Guard.

STCW is Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping, which is yet another level of redundancy foisted on you by IMO if you want to sail outside of the US (BST is Basic Safety Training, the lowest level of STCW)

IMO is the International Maritime Organization, the maritime branch of the UN