what are some 150-250cc "vespa" style scooter prices? any advice?

I'm just wondering how much a 150-250cc vespa style scooter might cost...

please dont tell me about motorcycles or those bicycle moped things....

Just scooters...

I'm a college student looking for reliable and cheap transportation to and from work and school... Most likely just back and forth about a mile or two, but if i get hired in the next town over there might be a possible 15-30 mile commute in store for me...

So i'm looking for something I might have to take on the highway..

Just a little scooter, cheap on gas... prices? suggestions? thanks

Update:

I have a wife... Part of the reason I want a scooter opposed to a huge scary motorcycle... I want something she wont be afraid to ride on, and maybe one day will learn to ride!

Update 2:

Well since me and my wife both weigh 150 pounds... lol

I know what you mean about starting out with something that could kill you...

So I'm thinking maybe I could learn on a 150cc honda or suzuki... maybe yamaha?

And I'm looking at 2000-3000?

that isnt so bad.. especially if I could put it on a credit card or use some student loan money.... and it would definitely help...

We have a car... but I was thinking it would be much more logical to get a scooter rather than a second car for me and my wife.. that way i could do all my commuting with much cheaper gas prices...

I wasn't necessarily thinking of taking her everywhere, so since we are within the weight limit, maybe taking her every once in awhile to get her used to riding wouldn't be so bad (like i said, she is very scared of things with 2 wheels, her dad died in a very bad biking accident)

Do i have the jist of things? or am i still off??

150cc good to start with? or no?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer