Why do I feel so down?

I'm a 21year old college student. I was out of school for about a year and now I'm back and I'm finishing my degree, which will take about 2 more years. I live at home, my car is broken, and I work part time at a job that I feel can only lead to a dead end.

My pace at school is slow and it gets me down because a lot of my friends are graduating within the next 2 semesters while I have about 5 more to go. I'm in a frat and we do hold events and go out together to parties and what not, though I feel like I fail at planning events and so on due to conflicting work/meeting schedules and what not. My parents don't approve of it and are somewhat protective of me, where it feels like a struggle sometimes to win their approval. I'm pretty shy around women and though I hate to admit it, I get lonely for some female company though I never really have the balls to make an approach, but I'm fine with girls I already know. This makes me feel pretty depressed and when I realize that I missed so many romantic opportunities I get a little more sad. I just start to feel numb about the whole situation.

Because I live at home still and my car doesn't work makes me feel as though my value as a potential partner has decreased, and my lack of independence has frustrated me for a while. I have trouble managing my money, and it seems to dissolve in food and gas for my parents car. I've never been one to take things lying down, but lately I've just been feeling like I've been going around in a big circle, not producing anything. I know that there are more important worries in the world other than my little problems, and just the thought of my stressing over these things brings down my morale. I guess this isn't really a question, more of a rant!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago