What kind of schooling (and what would you major in) if you wanted to be a pediatrician?

I'm only a sophomore... but I want to know what I need to do! What should I major in? And how much schooling would I go through?

thanks!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • ebe b
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Start by being an above average student in high school and college.

After graduating from high school, a student that wants to become a Pediatrician must finish:

•four years of college

•four years of medical school

•one year of a Pediatrics internship

•two years of a Pediatrics residency

So that adds up to about 11 years of school and training to become a Pediatrician.

Your first steps are going to involve choosing a major and making sure that you satisfy the minimum premed course requirements of the medical school you want to attend. These includes courses in Biology, Chemistry, Physics, English, and Calculus. Many pre-med students major in Biology.

Medical schools are less concerned with your major than the quality and scope of your work. You must perform well in the required science courses. As long as you take the required science courses (e.g., as electives) and perform well in them, you can choose any major that you find interesting. For example, it's not uncommon for Psychology students or even those with majors in the humanities to take the required science couses as electives in order to apply to medical school.

During your junior year of college, you will:

•take the MCAT or Medical College Admissions Test (April)

•begin completing applications to the Medical Schools that you are interested in attending (May)

•request letters of recommendation from your college professors (May)

•retake the MCAT if you didn't do well (August)