what's advanced placement really is? is it better than honors courses? what is advanced placement test?

I'm a freshman at high school right now, I have two best choices of math classes that I can take, one is AP Statistics, the other one is Mathmatical Analysis Honors. Which one should I take? My dream is to get into University of Pennsylvania Business School

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

it's a good thing you're not going to school for english.

"what's advanced placement really is?"

lol. i'm kidding :)

but i think if you're wanting to go to school to learn business, AP statistics would be your best bet.

however, if there is a nearby community college, you can always enroll in one of their mathematical analysis honors classes.

but it would also be a good idea to talk to your school guidance counselor and ask him/her what would be the best class for your future plan.

good luck!

:)

Source(s): me, myself, and I.
  • 1 decade ago

honestly the more you take the better always i am a sophomore in high school so i understand your worried and stuff to i just when through being a freshman. The way it works is that AP classes will add .50 to your end grade they are college level courses. So if you got an A i the class you would have a 4.50 in the class at semester it works the same for if you got a B you will end with a 3.50 so it is worth taking if you are positive you will get an A. Where as honors classes only add .25 to your end grade so if you can only take one and your up to it take the AP Statistics. Honors and AP classes are the only way you can get above 4.0 GPAs if you pass all of them with As. You might be able to take the other class with byu which is sorta like summer school except you can take it whenever you want its shorter then normal classes and it offers honors and i think AP classes where as summer school does not. Hope i was helpful