Is this a good Idea, to move to Hawaii?

I am 20 yrs old. .I am currently a new EMT and am wanting to get my life started! I am in school doing some pre reqs, but i'm I think i might be ready to leave my little country town and see newer things. I am interested in moving to Hawaii, but not sure how or where to look for places to rent. Does anyone have any ideas? I am wanting to start out as an EMT there and become a nurse in the future. Is this to risky to do right now, or should I just go for it? Any Idea how much it might costfor living expenses there? Please leave any advice or websites, share some young scary moving experiences to make me feel better! lol thanks

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The easiest way to calculate cost of living differences is to use a web site that will give you a comparison btwn where you currently live & Honolulu. Here is a link:

http://www.bankrate.com/calculators/savings/moving...

If you are going to undertake an adventure like that, now is the time in your life to do it, as long as you have some money tucked aside to see you through if things do not work out as you hope. You are young, no family to support & are probably used to living a fairly spartan, student lifestyle. When I moved to Hawaii, I lived at the YWCA residence for a month & met another young woman who was looking for a roommate. She eventually moved back to Memphis, but I am still here 34 years later. Most EMTs work for the City & County of Honolulu & unfortunately, the city & state governments here are going through a ot of cut backs. That may make it hard to find a job, but you never know. Here is a link to their web site:

http://www.co.honolulu.hi.us/esd/ems/emsorg.htm

A few things to consider: