J T asked in PetsDogs · 1 decade ago

My dog keeps getting UTI's, any home remedies I can try?

My dog keeps getting UTI's... this is the 3rd one she's has in about a 3-4 month period.

The first vet gave her cephalaxin for the problem. She finished the anti-biotics and seemed to be better.

Then she got another one 3 weeks after she finished her medication. I was out of town and took her to a different vet. This vet gave her a shot of penicillin and prescribed a different type of antibiotics.

She finished this round and seemed fine. 4 weeks later she is exhibiting the same signs as before and I'm most certain it's another UTI.

I take her out to use the restroom 4-5 a day. I switched her diet after the second vet said to make sure her diet WASNT high in protein.

Also, the second vet said that it's possible that she may have been spayed too young and if this happened, then its possible that she will have UTI's all of her life.

I'm a college student and can't afford $150 vet bills every couple of weeks...are there any home remedies that can help her out ?

Thanks...

9 Answers

Relevance
  • LAZMUM
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer