Complex problem dealing with death, dating, and parents! What can I do?

What Say do kids have in their Parents relationships?

My mom died extremely suddenly when i was a sophomore in high school. A week later my dad was dating, a married woman 'going through a divorce.' It took them 16 months to get divorced. So i suspect she filed only after my mom died. But i Could be wrong,

She has a little bit of a problem controlling how much wine she drinks, she has very bad self-esteem problems, and her and my dad often times fight.

Last time they broke up she mailed his stuff to him (she lives down the street), and he admitted that she was crazy... he jokingly asked me if it was ticking (referring to it as a bomb she would send him). Last time they had a fight she refused to leave the house. my dad nearly had to call the cops because after he finally got her to leave because she stood on the doorstep for 45 mins ringing the doorbell.

She dated my dad for 18 months before telling her daughters (one's a year younger than me, and the other is the same age as my older sister, 22) That's how they met, my sister and her daughter used to be best friends in middle school. She said it was "to give them time to adjust to the divorce" yet a week after my mom died is enough time for me and my sister to adjust.

I'm about to leave for college and my sister has already moved out leaving my dad to be home alone and lonely. I know that he likes the company and at times she can be very affectionate towards him.

But i fear that she is not good for him. Her personality is drama ridden, and flawed at best. The other side to things, is that we live in a very expensive area.

Our houses (being in the same neighborhood) are both worth about $1mil. She's a librarian at a local elementary school, my dad retired and has a second income. He's making over $250k/year. I don't think that she can afford her house next year when her youngest daughter turns 18, and child support stops.