Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationAircraft · 1 decade ago

Please help! Navigation Chart Question?

I'm a PPL student flying VFR and this friday i have a cross country flight coming up.

Can you tell me how i can obtain the track distance from one place to another if i'll be flying from one country which in an inlet in the chart, to another country which is on the right position?

I'm flying from a small island, Malta, to Sicily and since Malta is so small it is placed beside Sicily as an inlet on the chart instead of beneath sicily where it's actually supposed to be.

I know there are some calculations that one must do since one cannot use the protractor and ruler to obtain the distance and track since Malta is in the "wrong" location.

I don't know if this helps, much im using "VFR GPS Charts" by Jeppesen with a scale of 1:500,000

Please help me, i have no idea how the calculations must be done.

Thanks in advance.

Update:

* i meant to write "inset" not inlet.

i.e. Malta is an inset in a chart.

Sorry about that.

Update 2:

im taking my instructor to sicily so i wont be alone but i do have over-water flying because i've got to fly from catania (sicily) to reggio calabria "southern italy" which entails a distance of 36nm over water.

I swear i'm not lying!

Maybe the rules are different when in Europe? I don't know...i just really need help with the inset.

Anyone, please?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • RickH
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Often an inset is just a smaller scale representation of what is already on the chart. In other words the Malta may be so small on the regular chart that an inset was created to show detail. Maybe Malta is there.

Absent that, there are some options that come to mind: