Can you give me some advice about starting my own website?

I would like to start my own website. It's nothing fancy. I want to buy www.insertmynamehere.com and have it be a resume type site so I can give it to potential employers after I graduate. I want it to display my writing samples, other pdf files, maybe have a blog, have my own email address from it. I don't need to have a store or anything. Just something pretty simple, nothing horribly elaborate.

I have some knowledge of html, and think that I can probably figure out the coding. I know it pretty much just takes a lot of tedious and sometimes frustrating work to build one. I don't really need to have any web hosts that have templates for dummies, but I wouldn't mind if they had some templates I could fall back upon. It would be nice if it was less expensive (I'm on a college student's budget), but if it is absolutely worth it to pay more for better service, I'll consider it.

So, my understanding is that you have to register the domain, find the web host you want, and then build the website? Am I missing anything? Also, I want suggestions on web hosts and domain registration sites. I was thinking about godaddy.com, any thoughts?

Thanks

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

As you may know a domain name is just a name, not a real website. If you are going to create your website: 1- Buy a domain name. A domain name is a name you want to call your website (ex: www.yahoo.com). To get a domain name, you have to pay an annual fee to a registrar for the right to use that name. 2- Buy a web hosting service to provide your online space and enable you to get your website online at your purchased domain name.

If you want to start your website I recommend purchase your domain and hosting together. In this way it is possible to get your domain for free. Some hosting services offer this gift today.