sueder
Lv 4
sueder asked in Education & ReferenceTeaching · 1 decade ago

Advice needed from third grade teachers!?

I moved to a different area a few years ago and have been trying since I got here to get a job in the public school system. I finally succeeded and have been given a third grade classroom. My background is in PreK and Kindergarten (I taught these grades for 8 years in another state). I have worked with inner city, affluent, and rural schools. I feel I have strengths in classroom management, writing, science, social studies, organization, and dealing with parents (both the easy and the difficult). I was so excited to get a job, but now that school will be starting in a week, I am looking for some help with the following issues.

My main concern is about reading. I am not used to teaching reading to this age level and do not really know how to start. I plan to follow textbooks, manuals, and lesson plans from the last year left in the classroom. Someone told me that you can't teach reading to this age group in small groups. I wonder, why not? So how to begin?

I know I have 19 students, 4 will be ESE (Special Education students) though I do not know in what areas, I will have an aide for 5 hours a day to help work with mainly the ESE students. My question here is what would you do with an aide for 5 hours if you had one or if you have had a similar experience? I want to use him or her to maximize learning among the students.

Lastly, I am wondering about 3rd grade students in general. They seem so old to me after working with the very young. Do they like to be treated like grownups? Do they like stickers? Are they still eager to please? I know these are silly things to worry about but I do not want to baby them and make them feel silly.

Thanks for the input and please feel free to give advice about anything 3rd grade related.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer