So Metallica is metal, right?

I have always had problems with music genres. :D

I mean, I know what's folk and what's reggae and what's classical when I hear it, alright. But sometimes everything gets so confusing o_O -- ¤ Could someone explain me, what makes Metallica metal and not rock for example? ¤ :D

Oh, and please don't send me right away to guillotine.. I'm not that stupid in other things, really... REALLY!! hahahaha ;)

Update:

josh w - just out of curiosity, what are your favourite bands then? :D

I'm not a fan of Metallica, yet, because I'm just getting into them :P

13 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

yes Metallica is metal.

Its been said that "Like all rock and roll bands owe a little something to the beatles, all heavy metal bands owe a little something to metallica." and i tend to agree.

before them you really didnt have alot of what makes metal metal.

the double bass, the "riding of the E string", the speed, the growled vocals and the general bombastic bombast really werent around accessibly until James and Lars gave it to us. other bands did those things but they were mostly little known underground type acts. re, Venom.

In the ensuing decades (decades?! gawd im old!) metal has been chopped up and put into tiny little boxes and its enough to confuse anyone...there has also been a great deal of dilution due to "marketing"...much like what happened to punk.

I used to have problems like you've described. trying to put music into its "proper" spot. i gave up on it. bands can be many different genres for many different people now and its not worth the arguments.

I now divide all music into 2(two) categories...one is stuff i enjoy hearing the other is stuff i dont...makes it much easier.

and for all the metallica bashers...didnt you guys get the memo? hating on one of the most popular and influencial bands ever is passe and should be avoided.

now playing: would? - alice in chains