? asked in Arts & HumanitiesPerforming Arts · 1 decade ago

How can I teach myself acoustic guitar?

I watch to teach myself acoustic guitar so my question is there any good books? What videos should I watch? Lastly, Where can I learn to read tabs? Thanks. :D

6 Answers

Relevance
  • sean b
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm a self taught guitarist and I would recommend NOT using the internet at first.

Go out and get a book and forget tabs and the net until you learn some basic peices from a book.

If you rely solely on the internet you will learn NOTHING of music theory, or at least very little.

And without some thoery behind the music you will never truly master the guitar

• 1 decade ago

I'm teaching myself to play acoustic.

They way I'm learning (mostly) is through tabs. As for somewhere to learn to read them, try any good guitar tableture website.

Get some chords going first. Easiest probably are G, E, A, Am, Em, and D. Start with them. Work your way up.

• 1 decade ago

Ernie Ball Learn how to play guitar Vol. 1 was the absolute best guitar book i have ever owned. Its how i started. Good choice going with acoustic first. Harder to push the strings down, better finger strength later on :)

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Tabs are easy to read Tabs are the lines are horizontal and not vertical so from bottom to top it's Low E,A,D,G,B,High E, the horizontal lines are numbered (frets) good luck

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

You can search youtube and find a ton of beginner guitar videos (ie. "basic chords").

You can find tab for music at ultimateguitar.com.

The best book I found was Teach Yourself Visually Guitar, which has TONS of color photos, diagrams, scales, it dabbles in different genres, etc.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago