How can I get comfortable driving?

Hi. I'm 18, graduated high school earlier this year, and without a license. Not having a license is restricting for obvious reasons, especially since I'm in metro Detroit. I can't drive to college if/when I go this Fall/Winter, I can't get a job if I wanted to, I can't go where I want when I want, among other things.

I got my learners permit in May, and have only driven four times - briefly - since. Let me just say, I haven't done great. I've been comfortable at times, but I'm not good at judging when to press the brake or let go of the gas, mainly because the sense of speed to me while being in a car isn't very high.

I still haven't driven in a lot of traffic, on the express way, or even used my turn signal to merge into a lane.

I wouldn't say I'm scared to drive, but I'm very nervous. What can I do? It seems that when I get into a car and try to calm myself down, it doesn't work. My heart beats fast and I get uneasy, even when I know I shouldn't be acting that way.

HELP!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

driving is easy for some people and terrifying for others.

i know i was a fast learner but i remember when my mom was learning, she hated it.

really, the only way to be comfortable is to get more experience. first time i drove, i was nervous, but second and third time, i got more relaxed.

driving school might help you calm down. you learn skills and you get a discount on your insurance rate. if you can afford driving school, take it.

good luck!

• 1 decade ago

In my opinion you need to practice with a professional instructor. They will have control of their own brakes and also over the wheel. That will make you feel more relaxed. The courses are usually not more than $200.