My 5mth old likes to sleep on her tummy.?

I have a 5mth old who sleeps a lot better when she is on her tummy. My son who is now 3yrs old at 2-1/2mths was sleeping through the whole night and the only way i can get her to is to put her on her tummy. She has good head control but is not able to roll over. Should I continue to let her sleep on her belly?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

she's 5 months?? I don't see the problem. Will probably get a thumbs down but i have been letting my son sleep on his belly since about 2 months and have great sleep ever since! never a problem.

• 1 decade ago

The only reason why they say to put on their backs is because dumb people have killed babies before by laying them down face straight on the mattress. My daughter slept on her tummy since she was born and would not have it any other way. A safe way if you do choose this is by dressing her warmly [if even nessesary right now!] & taking sheets and stuffed animals out so she has an empty bed, since she cant move much you dont want something to accidentaly end up over her face that she cant figure a way out of. If she has good head control then she will probably turn her head a few times while shes sleeping, but if she ends up face down on the mattress she wont leave it there, she will just turn it to one side or the other.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

No.

Its only safe when they can roll completely from their back to their tummy. Just make sure the sheet is snug in the crib and no blankets or stuffed animals to suffocate him. Once they can roll like that they usually do it even if you don't want them to anyways.

If she can't roll from her back to her tummy, don't let her. But if she can, its ok, just watch her.

• 1 decade ago