Air-force Advice Please!Enlist Reserve or Active?

I am considering joining the Air Force. I am a single mom 31 yrs old . My son is 8 yrs old, temporarily living with my mom for 1 yr in Texas while I go to school. I am in my first year of my masters program . I have been working as a medical assistant for 5 years now in a local hospital. The pay is great, but not enough with the economy, its hard to support my son, living paycheck to paycheck. My question is should I enlist reserve or active? Also, what medical jobs would be available for me. I have my bachelors in business health care management, and MBA in health care management. I have a ways to go before I finish at least a year. Advise needed. Thank you in advance

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

First of all, with a Masters degree, you are wasting your time enlisting. Do you really think that being a junior enlisted is going to pay more than your job at the hospital?

There are openings for educated individuals in your field to serve as officers. Talk to a recruiter.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Like others have said, don't enlist. Go to OTS and earn a commision. Officers are treated better, earn more, and (generally) have more opportunities. The Air Force is always looking for health care pros in both active duty and the Reserve. I'd go for AD if I were you. The medical corps is, well medical, more than military.

The reserve side wouldn't put that much more in the bank, but you could continue to live a civilian lifestyle and you pretty much get to pick your spot and stay there. So of the negatives include promotion potential. If it's only a Capt slot, that's as high as you go. Spaces. If say you wanted to be a Hospital Admin, but the unit you were talking to already had someone filling the job, you're probably not going to get a slot.