Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetHardwareOther - Hardware · 1 decade ago

How can I update my video card to improve performance with Sims 3?

I just started playing Sims 3 and I'm SO bummed about how laggy it is. I think one minute in the Sims universe is for my computer, equal to maybe two minutes in reality. It's quite annoying how poor the performance is on my computer.

How can I update my video card to improve the performance with Sims 3 on my computer? Do I just update the driver (please state how btw), or do I have to get more RAM on the card? Is there anything I can do without buying anything to improve performance with Sims 3?

Or, I CAN spend money, which leads me to another question. Which video card is BEST for Sims 3? Which video card has the most compatible amount of 'RAM'? I want to buy a video card that can make my time on Sims 3 the best I can get.

My computer's CURRENT video card is from ATI Technologies, a RADEON X300/X550/X1050.

Thanks in Advance! :D

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

You have onboard Video which is pretty bad for any game..

You need to know what motherboard you have and find out what type of slot you have, agp or pci express 16x.

Is this a laptop of desktop? If it is a laptop then you will be limited..

But if it is a desktop there are tons of video cards to choose from.

Just go to newegg and type in video card and look for yourself!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Sub...

• 4 years ago